Two Hymns + Jupiter

Jupiter_by_Cassini-Huygens

A few months ago, the Mormon Tabernacle Choir did a version of “O God, Beyond All Praising”, which was set to the tune of the middle second of Gustav Holst’s “Jupiter, Bringer of Jolity” from “The Planets”. 

I haven’t been so captivated by a melody in a long time, and so I figured I would use it to adapt a hymn or two. I couldn’t decide between “Joseph Smith’s First Prayer” and “Israel, Israel, God Is Calling”, and so I set them both.  I love the majestic sweep of the melody, the kind of majesty that fits with these timeless words. 

O How Lovely (Holst)

Israel Israel (Holst)

Leave a Reply

