Hymnbook Update

Hello!

I’m writing to update you all on the status of the hymnbook project and some changes that I have implemented after much thought and prayer. Here are some things I wanted to let you know about:

  • In the next few days, I will have I have a “first draft” of the hymnbook that is ready to be looked at. I need as many eyes on it as possible. Please let me know if you are willing to look over it.
  • After much thinking and praying, I have decided to stick only to hymns that fit on two pages when using the hymn template we’ve designed for the hymnbook. For the other longer songs that have already been accepted, I am still going to compile them into a bonus book (a bit like the existing “Choirbook”) that can be given as an extra incentive to those who obtain a hymnbook.
  • I’ve streamlined the book from the initial version down to about 235 hymns. In doing this, I have kept all the hymns that fit the formatting that are original work for this hymnbook. (As opposed to alternate settings of existing hymns, etc.)
  • In these implementing these changes, I have been left with only one relief society hymn that fits the guidelines. It would feel quite lopsided to have six or seven priesthood hymns and only one for the relief society. If you have any hymns that are more of the traditional, four-part, two-pages-or-under variety, please send them to me right away for consideration.

Please feel free to reach out to me with any questions or comments. Thank you for your continued patience and support!

 

Leave a Reply

