Hymn Text: Persuing Perfection

Date: March 9th, 2017
Title: Pursuing Perfection
Meter: 8 7 8 7 D
Topic: perfection, endurance, improvement

Text:
1.
Though I was not perfect today
And may not be tomorrow,
I am farther along the way
But not held back by sorrow.

I stumble as all mortals do
But do not stay on the ground
For I know that when I am through
I’ll come home all safe and sound.

2.
If I don’t have the perfect year
And reach my every goal
I still must not give into fear
For God’s ever in control.

As long as what I have achieved
But improves upon the last
I’ll use the light I have received
As I ponder, pray, and fast.

3.
I may not be the perfect one
But my heart is turned aright
I’ll labor with God’s perfect Son
With all of my mind and might.

With warm, expectant faith I’ll wait
For that bright and perfect day
For true perfection is my fate
And I am now on my way.

Questions? Comments? Contact: thesongoftherighteous@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

